As y’all can probably tell, I am really bad at keeping up with this ‘blogging’ thing.

So much shit happens sometimes that I have no real idea where to begin when it comes to this stuff. So I’m gonna try my best to do this by sectioning everything.


University

As always, university promises challenges every single day. I’ve officially reached the point of being burned out, but I can’t say it hasn’t been worth it. We’ve really improved with this whole interpreting thing, especially now that we’ve started working on simultaneous interpretation.

(If you’ve forgotten what that means, read my post here.)

Tensions rise sometimes, as happens when you spend every single day in a closed space with the same people for a minimum of three hours. You can start to notice little things that annoy you, or become paranoid about your classmates and how they feel about you. Tension and stress does that to you. But things will always work out fine; you’re in this together after all, and you haven’t killed each other yet, so something must be good.

We have exams this month, which means that we’re even more stressed than we usually are, but I think what’s really different about these last few weeks is that we’ve actually become pretty confident in what we do. We’re not beginners anymore – we’re definitely on the way.


Travelling

2017 looks like it’s gonna be a great year for travelling! January’s barely over, and I’ve already got three trips booked.

Brussels

My course mates and I are off to Brussels for a few days in May, both for a study visit and also to have some fun. I’ve never been to Brussels, so I’m incredibly excited that I’m off somewhere new.

Germany

I’m going to Germany for the first time in August! I’m actually going to go watch Billy Talent live – they’re my favourite band of all time, so I’m beyond excited to both we visiting a country I’ve never been to and be listening to my favourite band. The entire trip is planned for a few days in Frankfurt and Dortmund, and I honestly can’t wait.

The UK

I received the best news for my academic career recently. After submitting a proposal to a conference’s call for papers on a whim, my paper was accepted and I’ll now be going to Lancaster to present my paper at a conference. Since flights to the UK are expensive, I’m gonna make it worth it. I’m travelling to Manchester and Lancaster, since I’ve never been to either place, and spending a few days in each place before and after the conference.

So yeah, there’s that!


Writing and Academia

I’ve tried my very best to send in submissions to as many different places as possible. Magazines, literary journals, publishing houses – if I see it and the deadline’s within reach, I’m sending something in. At this moment, I have nothing to lose, right?

So far, I’ve…

  • sent in a short story to a literary journal called Antae, and they’ve accepted it
  • sent in a paper to a conference (read above) which has also been accepted
  • sent an application for a conference organized by the student council at my University, which I have yet to hear about

I’m also working on a bunch of other papers and literary submissions to a bunch of other places. You never know until you try, right?


Watching/Reading/Listening to Right now 

I haven’t been listening to many new songs lately, mostly because it’s exam season and I’m not very into finding new music when I’m busy trying to study and practice. However, I will try and recommend, to those who haven’t listened to me yet, to try listening to Billy TalentMisterWivesBastille and Caravan Palace. They’re all great. Look them up.

I’m still making headway on books, and am reading Wuthering Heights for the third time, after reading The Picture of Dorian Gray for the first time. As I said, exams are a thing, so that’s a bit slow at the moment.

However, because of exams, I am spending a lot of time procrastinating watching TV shows. I’m currently watching RuPaul’s Drag RaceEmerald CityCrazy Ex-Girlfriend, and Black Sails. I’ve got a bunch downloaded, really. It’s only a matter of time til I’ve ploughed through the entire folder on my laptop…


I don’t think I’ve missed out on anything. Christmas was fun, but uneventful, and so was New Year (although I did get to see most of my friends over the holidays, which is always a huge plus!)

Hopefully, there’ll be more to write about in the coming weeks – at least until Brussels! Expect travel posts for those 🙂

That’s all, adieu~

