You know what I love? Theater.
You know what I also love? Writing about things I love.
Funny how these things work out when you have a blog.

I promised myself last September that I would do my best to go to as many productions as I possibly could from now on. So I promptly went and booked as many shows as I could. Next month, I’m going to my first concert (!), but this month, I went to five local productions, featuring local talent, and a few people I actually knew personally.

*

A Complete History of Europe (More or Less)

Put up by More or Less Theater, who have other productions that center around Malta and also science, this play was held in a small intimate setting at St James Cavalier, and staged by just two very energetic and enthusiastic fellas – Joseph and Malcolm.

Joseph and Malcolm’s on stage chemistry is hilarious, well-played, and very welcome. The two play off each other like old friends do when they know the others’ every move, and the play flows ever more swiftly for it. Written for children, the whole production is a very brief and concise lesson about how the continent we now call Europe was formed, including as much as they could about holy wars, kings and queens, exploration, and democracy as they could fit into one hour.

Watching the entire thing actually made me think of this video right here:

Malcolm’s persona, an educator who wants to spread his knowledge to youngsters, is constantly interrupted by Joseph’s person, who traipses on stage in silly costumes and funny accents, much to the audience’s delight. They bring the history of Europe – one full of romance and bloodshed (their words, not mine) – to life in just over an hour, using very little props, some well timed sound effects, and good clean jokes that actually do make you laugh. Their audience interaction is spot on and well played, not over-done or under-used at all.

The jokes, while very simple and often just a case of Joseph misunderstanding Malcolm, or Joseph just being childishly excited about the whole thing, are enough to make the entire audience laugh quite heartily while watching. Although written for kids, the production reminded me that sometimes, the silliest and simplest of jokes are the funniest. You don’t need things to be elaborate and intelligent to be funny or witty – sometimes a guy dressed as Julius Caesar dancing like a ballerina is enough.

Really and truly, if anybody – whatever your age – gets the chance to see this performance, they should rush at the opportunity. This play is ideal for children aged 7 and up; and even if you’re just a history buff who wants to go alone, like me, then you’re definitely in luck, because the whole thing is well researched, well presented, and just a downright joy to watch.

(Coincidentally, Malcolm and Joseph will be taking place in this year’s Masquerade pantomime, Puss in Boots – a script that Malcolm wrote, and that both are acting in. If this production was anything to go by, I’ll definitely be getting tickets to this next show.)

