You fall in love with the smallest things.

I fell in love
With the way
The guy at the counter at Starbucks
Asked me if i wanted cream
And flicked his hair
Out of his eyes as he did.

I fell in love
With how the girl
At the comic store
Was trying to reach the top shelf
Without asking for help –
On tip toes
Arms outstretched
Tongue poked out in concentration.

I fell in love
With the way
The guy working in the clothes store
Folded everything so neatly
Before putting them in a pile.

I fell in love
With how to the girl
Sitting next to me on the bus
Said ‘Sorry’
When she accidentally elbowed me.

(I fell in love
With the way
Your skin brushed mine
When you introduced yourself
With a handshake)

(With the way
You said my name)

(With the way
You kissed me for the first time)

(With the way you greeted me –
With such fervour every time)

(With the way
Your eyes lit up)

(With how
You made me feel safe in my own skin)

